• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Search for Good Mic Preamps

phoenixsong

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Hi all,

Created this thread to find mic preamps that will be good enough (and hopefully not too pricey) to match the Cosmos ADC's level of performance. How are the preamps below? I'm new to this but they appealed to me after a day of searching and shortlisting. Curious about any other suggestions too!

Cheap but questionable:

Costlier options:

Rja4000

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi
It mostly depends what you intend to do.
What's your use case ?
How flexible, polyvalent and road-ready does it have to be ?
Do you need mobile or studio solution ?
Do you plan to rather use ribbon or large diaphragm condenser microphones ?
What's your budget ?

Answer may be anything from a Mackie 802 VLZ4 to a Millennia-audio HV-316/16

OP
P

phoenixsong

Hi
It mostly depends what you intend to do.
What's your use case ?
How flexible, polyvalent and road-ready does it have to be ?
Do you need mobile or studio solution ?
Do you plan to rather use ribbon or large diaphragm condenser microphones ?
What's your budget ?

Answer may be anything from a Mackie 802 VLZ4 to a Millennia-audio HV-316/16
Planning to use it with large diaphragm condenser and dynamic mics. It's more of a home-based studio solution, so doesn't have to be road-ready or rack-incorporable pretty much. Don't need any particular functions either, focus is purely on transparency but gain adjustment and phantom power are nice bonuses

Helicopter

Major Contributor
Transparency or SOTA specs?

Anything from RME, even Focusrite and Motu should be audibly transparent.