• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

REW noob...

rossp

Been playing around the last few weeks with REW as a total newbie on that front - using it mainly for subwoofer tuning right now. Have a Yamaha RX-V6A with AppleTV as the primary source, so limited options for minidsp or similar. Right now, I pulled the sub from my office into the living room so have two subs (both powered, one 8" and one 12") in this measurement. Generally to my ear it sounds ok - previously I was trying to get rid of boomy bass and this sounds better. My priority is music over movies, and earth shattering volume isn't a concern.... Like many of you, room space and WAF is a limiting factor - based on REW's room simulation it suggested my optimum sub position was right in front of our front door... :)
Thanks!
LR response.jpg

Keith_W

Major Contributor
Welcome to ASR!

I think you forgot to ask us a question? What I think of that graph: wayyy to much bass, it is 15dB more than the main signal above 800Hz, and you have a huge dip from 45Hz down. Not sure what is causing that, most likely an issue with sub positioning. If you want to diagnose it, move your sub to another location that your wife will permit and see if it changes. You might want to knock down the volume of your sub by 10dB.

OP
R

rossp

Yeah sub positioning/ balance is the key thing I am trying to work out. Previously I had a huge spike around 50Hz (from memory - not at my PC now) so trying to level that out a bit. That’s interesting re the high bass level - both subs are at maybe 25-30% gain, and to my ears didn’t sound excessive. Will play around with the levels some more in my next session.

staticV3

Master Contributor