• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

PreSonus Studio 68c for 2.1 listening - a painful experience

neRok

I have been using the aforementioned device for a couple of months. I got it because it was the cheapest device with decent specs (on paper) that also ticked the following boxes;
  • Has 3 or 4 discrete channel outputs that I could use for a 2.1 setup
  • Has balanced outputs, because my sub is susceptible to ground loops, and my monitors pick up noise from my OLED monitor over RCA too.
  • Was a singular device, which would hopefully allow for;
    • A single volume knob to control all volume levels
    • Simple routing of streams to outputs, and DSP etc in Win10
Once I got my hands on the Studio 68c, I realised it does not achieve any of my "singular device" goals. It presents itself in windows as 2 separate playback devices; "Main Out 1/2" and "Line Out 3/4", and the "Universal Control" driver software has no routing or DSP capability. Thus I had to use VoiceMeeter Banana and Equaliser APO.

Additionally, the "Main" volume knob on the front of the 68c only controls the volume of the 2 main outputs, and not the 2 line outs. This means anything connected to the line outs is full volume, and because I wanted to play on all 4 outputs at once, I effectively have to keep the main volume knob at full (for level match). This means I have to use VoiceMeeter's volume slider to control the volume.