• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

My cable length and thickness worries me

deadchip12

So I'm a newbie and just had people from the local audio store installed a 5.1.4 dolby atmos system inside my bedroom. My setup is jbl stage a130 for front and surround speakers, jbl stage a125c for center speaker, polk v60 for overhead speakers and svs pb-1000 pro for sub. Now for each surround speaker, they ran the cable through the ceiling (to hide them), which leads to the length of the cable becoming pretty long, maybe 15-20m long, but I just checked and that cable was Sommer SP225.2x1.0 (which translates to 1mm thick wire I guess): https://nghenhinviet.com/day-am-tha...-tron-i216838072-s271677083-nl-216838072.html. Is that too thin for that distance, and should I expect a significant degradation in sound quality? I didn't know this before running all the wires and after reading about speaker cable gauge and all that, I'm worried.

-Matt-

Addicted to Fun and Learning
A quick google search suggests that Sommer SP225 has a cross sectional area of 2.5mm² (14 awg).

The cable spec also claims it to be oxygen free copper (which is good rather than copper clad aluminium).

Using this table:
Speaker-Cable-Distance-Chart.jpg

posted in this thread:

...and assuming double your longest cable run 40m (131 feet) (double to account for round trip circuit).

...and the 6 ohm nominal impedance of your JBL a130 speakers.

It looks as though you will see somewhere between 21% and 50% power loss. (So, yes, maybe 14awg is a bit on the skinny side).

Your speakers are still going to work like this - probably with no audiable difference after your AVR has corrected channel levels (<3db).