• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

My Android as Streamer to my DAC

GWHphoto

I have followed several threads with interest, but need help across the finish line.

I am a newbie to streaming. I have a high end audio system, including a DAC built into my integrated amplifier with a USB-B input (and also XLR, Toslink, coax inputs).

I bought a quality USB-C to USB-B cable to connect the phone and the DAC.

Phone is Samsung Z Fold 4. Android 13 with most recent updates. Streaming apps are Apple Music and Apple Classical, Tidal and Qobuz.

I have installed USB Audio Player Pro on the phone.

Now, how do I get going? I am somewhat new to this. This will be for using the streaming services only, for now. Do I start them from within the USP Audio Player Pro app? I see that Tidal and Qobuz show up in the USB Audio Player App. Apple music apps do not. How do I link my Apple Music Apps to the USB Audio Player App? And, how will I know if I am getting bit perfect native resolution output to the DAC?

Thanks!!

OP
G

GWHphoto

Thank you, StaticV3.

Sorry I posted it twice, but the other thread was a little old (last post was Feb) and I was not sure anyone was watching it.

And yes, I am a beginner at this, but wanted to try it before dropping several thousand on a streaming device.

I will try it out over the weekend. Any tips about getting the most out of the USB app? Settings, things like that?

Maybe Android 14 will open up the Apple. If I use the Apple natively, is there a way to know what resolution I am getting?

staticV3

Master Contributor
Any tips about getting the most out of the USB app?
Do you mean USB Audio Player Pro?
Not really, it should work just fine with default settings.