• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Modern electronic design.

bothu

How is modern electronic design done ?

As an hobbyist I am working with old tools. Drawing schematics on a paper, testing the components on a breadboard, adjusting values.
make circuit wiring with a simple CAD program, etching cards, drilling holes, mounting components, testing again and finally mounting it in some case.

That is a lot of physical handling with the electrical components.

I guess that it is not how modern EE nowadays designing/producing products . Advanced circuit simulators, automated layout and routing of cards, robots that place and solder cards and so on. SMD components have got so small so it is impossible to handle them by hand even for professional designers.

My question : Can someone tell me how the workflow from idea to product looks like nowadays.

Bild 1.jpg

Sending a picture from my primitive old school desk.

/ Bo Thuné, Linköping, Sweden

ZolaIII

Major Contributor
Well it's still the same most part prototyping - testing - modifying circle. Difrence is in a functional prototyping in early before silicon phase which is both time and cost saving. Basically you rute elements and connections they need (whole IC or system block by block) on FPGA (field programmable gate array) and as long array is bigger it will fit in. It's expensive (big fat FPGA's) and used often for verification on complex processes lithography where putting actual silicon on it costs so much that the price of FPGA's and complete verification is tiny.
There are smaller modern FPGA's with application processors (usually couple of ARM core's) that are more adorable and development board's with such.