• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

low power amplifier for Linux-based digital piano/home theater and bi-amplified speakers

gibbyj

Forum Donor
Hi,
I guess I'm a newbie, finally asking for some help. Several years ago I set up a Linux-based system with Ecasound digital crossover (and 3 passive circuit crossovers for mid to high), 3 bi-amplified speakers I re-worked from old Avid & AR speaker boxes, with decent drivers, and 2 12" sub-woofer sealed enclosure speakers I made. Including rear surround speakers, I need a total of 10 amplification channels. I have a hodge-podge Tango DAC, 300watt Crown amp for sub woofers, Rotel 6-channel amp for other speakers, and now even a Fosi 160w class D 2-channel amp. Until a few weeks ago, I used a Parasound 2 channel (90 watt?). The problem is, all my old amps I bought used several years ago, are slowly breaking on me. (It just occurred to me, could this be because I turn the amps on and off by using smart plugs to plug/unplug them??) The Rotel now only has 2 channels out of 6 working, and the Parasound stopped working reliably as well. I bought the Fosi as an experiment, thinking if I used only the lowest segment of its power, it might be adequate for the mid-range drivers. I'm no audiophile, but I think it sounds a bit bright; was using it for mid-range drivers (where it seemed adequate) until another set of Rotel channels dropped out, when I had to connect the Fosi to 2 high-range speakers so my Piano would stop sounding like a Ukeleli. The $75 Fosi is probably not adequate for that task... (when I buy another amp, I will do some comparisons and see if my ears can tell.) Anyway, it is time to upgrade some, and figure out how to spend my money most wisely. I need at