• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking for amplifier advice

Gaborm1

Hi,

I am a newbie in the forum. This is my first post, and looking for some advice.
I have a Yamaha R-N602 Receiver that I use mainly for streaming music from Apple Music and Apple Classical (lossless when available). However, I have an Onkyo Integra A-9711 Amplifier in the attic that I haven't used in the last five years. The Onkyo input selector switch had some noise; it was repaired and worked for a year, but the problem returned afterwards. When I took the amplifier to Richer Sounds to check if they could fix it, they suggested buying the Yamaha R-N602. I like the Yamaha but somehow miss the basses the Onkyo had with my Dali Zensor 3 speakers. I have the setup in our master bedroom and usually listen to classical symphonic music, but never loud.

I am wondering whether it makes sense to give the Onkyo another try or if the investment isn't worthwhile, as the sound quality is not better than that of the Yamaha R-N602. The Onkyo was my first real Hi-Fi investment, and somehow, I am emotionally connected to it. On top of that, I also have a DX7711 CD player (no fault). On the other hand, I could afford to sell both the Onkyo and the Yamaha and buy a new amplifier for around £2000.

So my questions are:
  1. Would you like me to give it a try to fix the Onkyo A-9711?
  2. Does the Yamaha R-N602 have a better sound quality vs. the Onkyo?
  3. If I sell both, what is your amplifier or integrated amplifier suggestion for around £2000?
Thanks for all the advice in advance!

Overseas

Major Contributor
If you are sure you prefer the Onkyo, fix it. It is not a top model, but if it suits you, you save 2000.