• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

iTunes

TankTop

Please be nice, I’m a bit new to this...

I was playing with iTunes trying to figure out how to download higher quality tracks, went into settings and maxed it out at 192/24. Restarted my computer to make sure settings were saved, double checked settings then I deleted a song and re downloaded it from iTunes, still at 144???

My guess is that’s the best I can download from iTunes but if I have a higher quality recording from somewhere else I can import it at a higher quality?

Frank Dernie

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I have higher res files imported into iTunes.
If you are using a Mac though iTunes resamples to the last file type set in Audio midi setup.
This is a known pita so you need to quit iTunes and change the settings in Audio MIDI Setup then re-launch iTunes it will play at whatever you set in Audio MIDI Setup.
There is an app called Bitperfect which can be run in parallel with iTunes which does it for you though.

OP
T

TankTop

I have higher res files imported into iTunes.
If you are using a Mac though iTunes resamples to the last file type set in Audio midi setup.
This is a known pita so you need to quit iTunes and change the settings in Audio MIDI Setup then re-launch iTunes it will play at whatever you set in Audio MIDI Setup.
There is an app called Bitperfect which can be run in parallel with iTunes which does it for you though.

Thanks, I’m using a PC, would it be different?

OP
T

TankTop

Sorry, I gave my PC away when I retired almost 10 years ago and only used it for work so never tried iTunes on a PC.

Thanks again, I’m at work now and was hoping to use their data... . I’ll try to figure it out when I get home.

Apesbrain