• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

How should I calculate the amount of power needed to achieve certain level of dB?

asahi.

Pls bare with me being stupid, I'm new to this kind.

I've recently bought a pair of susvara and I'm kinda confused about whether my amp can power it enough or not.

So basically I can get the amount of wattage by multiplying the effiency of susvara and the power amp provides on that impedance, right? Is this not source-related? To elaborate, my go-to genre is classical, which needs higher volume(or gain) in general. So the amount of power needed to achieve 85dBSPL on classical music is identical to that of normal music(which has more compressed dynamic range)? Then why do I have to turn up the volume to reach that level of loudness?

Pls help me about this matter. I am currently using chord qutest(3v, rca)with smsl sp400. So it's not typical rca output voltage but definitely less than that of xlr. I'm clueless rn if my amp can handle this can(especially this amp does not make any palpable difference between each gain stage, and the measured power is different to the marketing material)

Thanks in advance!

antcollinet

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
No, you can't multiply dB sensitivity by wattage, becasue it is logarithmic.

Basically for each 3dB extra SPL you need x2 power.

EG Sensitivity at 1W = 87dB
90dB needs 2W
93dB needs 4W
96dB needs 8W and so on.

But these are at 1m distance. Similarly each doubling of distance costs you 6db (4 times the power)

So at 2m 4 times the power is required.
At 4m 8x the power is required.

And don't forget to add 10dB of headroom for peaks/trnansients.

Probably easier to use the caluclator here:

staticV3

Master Contributor