• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Higher quality Stereo vs AVR

stefan2305

I'm not sure if the title of this post makes sense, but I'm hoping someone can help me out with some guidance here.

So I'm not new to the audio hobby (mostly have spent my time in the Headphones/IEMs world), but I'm still fairly new to the Home Theater/Speakers space.

At the moment I've got a pair of Dynaudio Evoke 20 Speakers powered by an Audiophonics MPA-S250NC stereo amplifier (uses the NCore252). And all of that is being fed through an SMSL SU-8 DAC which gets input via SPDIF from my TV (LG B9). Movie/TV content comes through an NVidia Shield TV Pro (2019) and content sources are either my Plex server or various streaming services like Netflix, Apple TV+, Disney+, TIDAL, Youtube, etc.

But I also own a Sony DH790 AVR.

The question I have is the following:
What's better in terms of sound quality?

- No native decoding of formats like DTS/TrueHD/DD/etc. with the SMSL SU-8, and thus this has to be transcoded by the TV (Plex can handle its sources, but the TV would need to deal with everything else). This option has a known high quality DAC and a known high quality amplifier with more than sufficient power for my speakers.

- Native decoding of formats like DTS/TrueHD/DD/etc. via the Sony DH790, but likely inferior DAC/Amp sections.

Alternatively I could also probably have the NVidia Shield TV Pro do the audio transcoding, but not sure which would be better, that or the TV.

Finally, I wish there was a preprocessor that didn't cost an arm and a leg that I could use to replace the SMSL SU-8 so it could do proper native decoding of those formats and still be of high quality as a DAC.