• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Hello, newbie here, I'm looking for recommendations!

Moldea

I'm not sure as to how to build my stack and I thought I'd ask you guys for advice based on my preferences
So I'm in the budget of 500 euros( but I can go slightly above that) and for the headphone I was inclined to go for the Hifiman edition XS and for the amp or dac I have no clue.
As for my preferences I would go for a warmer ( richer ) sound( if you guys have any rec's for the EQ) and I prioritize sound over comfort ( for over ear headphones ). I am open to suggestions from a totally different stack to stacks that complement the Hifiman edition XS. ( even though, I am not set on this headphone )

BDWoody

Chief Cat Herder
Forum Donor
Welcome!

Are you in a position where you might be able to try different headphones before buying?

The amp part is relatively easy, but the part that makes the music and clamps on your head is a bit more personal.

Have you settled on open back vs closed?

For that budget you should be able to set yourself with a very nice sounding setup.

bluefuzz

Major Contributor
I prioritize sound over comfort

As long as a headphone has reasonable default tonality and lowish distortion, especially in the bass, I would always go for comfort over sound. With the possible exception of DCA Stealths (which are somewhat outside your budget) then all headphones will benefit from EQ anyway. Use the EQ to tune them to your preferred tonality. So any amp + dac from Amir's recommended list will be fine with a streamer that can do EQ. CamillaDSP is popular round here. I would then find the comfiest midrange Sennheiser, AKG or Beyer that suits your budget ...

OP
M

Moldea