• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DYI speaker project for a complete newbie

delta76

Major Contributor
Hi,

A crazy idea crossed my mind last night - what's about I build a pair of speakers? Have been a "software" guy for my entire "adult" life, it's time to make it harder - no more micro & soft!
Now I heard Hivi v3.1 is great, but it costs much more in EU where I live than in the US. Any alternative
Which kit should I consider? I would prefer a "complete kit" which sounds great once assembled (minimum cut or drill because I have no workbench atm).

And a bonus question: in term of tools, what should I buy? I have a screw set, a hand drill. Perhaps a soldering iron is a must?

Thanks.

anotherhobby

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
When buildilng speakers, prefab kit or not, the hardest part is the finish. Getting a professional looking finished product is something that takes practice, patience, and skill. If you haven't ever done this type of project before (wood/cabinetry), expect that your finished product will very likely look like you made it, and it won't look professional. There are exceptions to this I'm sure, but putting out a very nicely finished set of DIY speakers on your first try is exceptionally difficult and rare if you don't at least have cabinetry skills. So, before you dive into this, I'd ask yourself if you are okay with speakers that may sound great, but totally look like you made them. If you don't like that outcome, are you okay with potentially building several speaker cabinets until you are ablet to accomplish a finish that you like?

Speaking from experience. :)

fpitas

Master Contributor
Forum Donor