• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Do warm amplifiers produce better sound?

opelaez

Newbie here seeking feedback on the sound coming from a cold vs warm headphone amplifier.

I noticed the sound from both Topping A90D and Topping L70 tends to become more "open", deeper and crisper after being powered-on for around 30 minutes to an hour, depending on room temperature. At first, I thought this was all my imagination, my ears getting used to the sound or just placebo effect. However, I noticed this did not seem to happen with my Drop+ THX 789. I noticed the 789 does not get warm whereas the Toppings do.

I went online and came across transistors/electronics take some time to get to an equilibrium state. I am not sure what to think about this.

What is really going on?

Thank you for your time.

I also want to thank Amir for his outstanding and brilliant work. I am absolutely dumbfounded by his unassuming personality while stacking up all the science facts and test evidence behind his words, in a simple way pretty much anyone can easily understand.

Keith_W

Major Contributor