• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Direct DAC-to-power amplifier connection ok?

Zeno

Hello to everyone, I am a former lurker and new member. Although I think I have learned a lot by reading posts in this forum, I have no technical background whatsoever, unfortunately, so please be patient if I ask silly questions.

Here is one: I think I have read that a direct DAC-->power ampli connection is ok and is actually what many members of the forum do. If it is ok, then is the function of a preamplifier limited to that of providing volume control and input selection? I had formed the idea that a crucial function of a preamp was to amplify the signal to a level that a power amplifier could then work with. Maybe that's not so?

Or does it depend on the specs of the specific equipment used?

I was thinking of using this set up: windows10 computer-->Schiit modi 3-->power amplifier -->speakers. Volume would be controlled with the software used in the computer (JRiver).

I do not yet have a power amplifier, but I am planning to buy an Audiophonics MPA-S250NC (with Hypex Ncore NC252MP), if that matters.

Helicopter

Major Contributor
This is fine. The only issue is you are really depending on the software for volume control. A knob with a marker gives everyone in the house information about the volume setting.

A preamp is basically just a source selector and volume control yes. Most preamps also have some gain for when a source signal is weak. A passive preamp has no gain, only attenuation.

staticV3

Master Contributor
The MPA-S250NC will output max power at 1.84Vrms input with 8Ω load, 1.68Vrms with 4Ω load, and 1.0Vrms with 2Ω load.