• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Danger of dBA vs. dBC Noise Levels

Harassed Neighbor

Our neighbors are harassing us and we believe are using a low frequency audio attack. My sound meter records a dBA reading of 0, but the same meter records a dBC reading of 30-45 dBC. I assume this implies they are emitting a low frequency audio signal in the less than 0-2k range. Is this dangerous? I am sensing a small level of ear ringing. How can I prove it (equipment and method)? I’m a novice, not a professional.

boxerfan88

Cross check readings with a phone app.

On iPhone, you can use Dynaudio Meter app, or another one called dB Meter.

Beave

Major Contributor
Neighbors as in the house next door or neighbors as in the apartment next door (or above or below you)?

Sokel

Master Contributor
There's no such thing as 0db in a domestic environment.
First reading should read something like 30-40db in a quiet environment.

Try another app.

MaxwellsEq

Major Contributor
I assume this implies they are emitting a low frequency audio signal in the less than 0-2k range. Is this dangerous
High sound volumes are dangerous to your hearing, but I'm not aware of any evidence that low frequencies are particularly dangerous. If it was dangerous, large cathedral organs would pose a risk.

There are lots of reasons why your brain detects resonances in your ears. Quite a lot of them are not external, e.g. tinnitus which has a low frequency version associated with Ménière's Disease. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2686891/

OldTimer