• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Cross at 60 vs Cross at 100

Acerun

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Hi all,

I'm still a noob at interpreting REW measurements. I am using MultiEQ-X, a Denon X8500H, a. Purifi stereo amplifier, two Revel M126Be speakers as mains and two Rhythmik 1000w Hypex sealed subs. I took measurements of the full spectrum left channel + subs with a 60 crossover and with a 100 crossover. Can anyone help me understand if one is better than the other and if so, why?

Thank you in advance for any advice.

1707000735813.png

Attachments

• 60 vs 100.png
    60 vs 100.png
    24.3 KB · Views: 63
Last edited:

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Oh the answer is 80 hz of course. ;)

Just looking the 60 hz looks a bit better. I do wonder though as above 1 khz I would expect no difference. So maybe run this more than once or perhaps you have. Also maybe show us the 1/6th or 1/12th smoothing (or post your MDAT files). Psy is usually pretty good, but more resolution might help in seeing how the room and subs are working in the lower frequencies. For these purposes maybe just do the sweep up to 1 khz.

OP
Acerun

Acerun

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I appreciate the responses. I will do some fresh ones in the morning. I realize these are from a couple of weeks apart so I will get a better set of data. Maybe I'll try 60, 80 and 100. I appreciate the help. I just don't really know how to read the data.

OP
Acerun

Acerun

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I don't know if it matters or not but on these settings I am using multieq-x room correction up to 500.

Chrispy

Master Contributor
Forum Donor