• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Anthem MCA 225 GEN 2 versus Parasound A23+ Halo

Kublai

I'm new to the audiophile community and looking for a power amplifier for my Denon AVR X4700H front channels. Can anyone who has listened to or owned both power amplifiers provide information about the sound quality of both amplifiers? I got my AV receiver during COVID mainly for movies, but now I'm looking into Audiophile listening. I'm eyeing both amplifiers but can't decide which to go for.

Gary_G

I am a novice at this but really enjoy my A23+. I have Focal Aria 926 speakers and hear no hiss at all. The amp never seems "hot" when listening for extended periods. I have the gain turned all the way up and still have not had any issues driving the speakers.

I paired the amp with the Parasound P6 preamp. And listen to spotify, radio paradise and cd's.

I listen at moderate levels and have never had an issue driving the speakers. My listening room is not the best, 15' x 15' so lots of room modes to deal with.

JSmith

Master Contributor
Hello and welcome to ASR. :)

Level matched, I doubt one would hear any difference in sound between these amps based on the manufacturer specs only.

Between the 2, the Anthem has more power and slight better specs;

However why restrict yourself to these two (rather expensive) choices, when you could get the same power and similar specs for much less?

Have you considered a Purifi or Hypex based amp?

JSmith

Slayer

Addicted to Fun and Learning
While I love my Anthems, I'll have to agree with @JSmith . Purify or hypex is going to cost about half of the Anthem or Parasound and sound damn good. Both of which seem to have good track records.