• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

A/B Testing two audio interfaces

Skezza

I have two almost identical audio interfaces but one I've modified slightly. How would I go about A/B testing them to see if made a difference?

Recording a square wave through both and comparing? Sine wave? Two WAV audio recordings?

I'm new to this. Please be gentle lol.

kemmler3D

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I think the best (i.e. most thorough way to identify differences) would be to use Deltawave (app developed by @pkane ) to compare the output of each device. Do a "loopback" recording where you record the output of the DAC on its own ADC input, or if you have a better ADC on hand, use that.

You can use any audio to compare, but if it were me I'd use all of the above, plus sine wave sweeps.

This requires some nuance to do correctly, but probably worth the effort.

When / if you find differences revealed by Deltawave, you can go back and listen A/B to see if what you hear is consistent with those measured differences.

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Yeah Deltawave and maybe Multitone would be useful. Both from pkane. Search for pkane and links are in his signature. Free and excellent. Also nice that they work with two different ASIO devices on the same computer at the same time.

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
If there's an audible difference it would likely be hiss from the mic preamps. But make sure to match the gain.

Sokel

Master Contributor
Download Multitone Analyzer,prepare a short loopback cable (which is the interface? ) and we will help you with settings and measurements.
Since they are the same the results will show you if the mod worked or not.

OP
S

Skezza

Thank you. I'll get on that tomorrow.