• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Combining two RCA audio signals

MasterHenaz

Hello!
This is going to sound pretty cursed setup so please don't judge.

I'm trying to add 2 passive speakers to my soundbar L/R channels. I'm using Aiyima A07 Max amp for the speakers.
So what I've done is I tap RCA cable directly to the soundbar element + and - to get audio to the amp. It works...
BUT
The soundbar element probably is not full range, so only the bass element of the speaker produces sound.
So then I tried tapping into the tweeter of soundbar and its the reverse effect. Passive speaker tweeter only produces sound and bass element is silent.

I'm going to need help with ideas on how to go proceed with this.

I'm new to this but here's what I think I know.
If I combine the soundbar tweeter and bass element RCAs to single RCA male then the soundbar will short circuit?

I'm willing to buy another A07 Max if the solution requires it
I'm willing to buy a preamp if the solution requires it
I'm willing to buy an audio mixer if the solution requires it

Why? The speakers sound great and add the extra warmth to the soundbar. Currently I'm using HDMI Arc splitter, but I can only get 2.0 audio through it to my soundbar while using the RCA output of speakers. This way the soundbar can process 5.1, 7.1, Atmos sound and still have the benefit of having better front stereo speakers.

Rick Sykora

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Welcome to ASR!

As to your request, not quite following. What is model of soundbar? A wiring diagram would help too.

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Mixing would require a mixer and of course the passive speakers need an amp. (From what you've told us, you don't need another amp.)