Search results

1. Shefffield

General discussion/planning for "fully digital" DIY speaker - DAC boards, protocols, interfaces etc

Hello forum, given all the available DIY boards and modules, it should be possible and not overlay complicated to build a DIY speaker that's pretty much fully digital. With that I mean: You connect it to a computer and you're done. Picking good options out of the vast selection is quite a...
  2. Shefffield

Solder - unleaded or classic Sn60Pb38Cu2?

Hello, forum! I'm not really good at soldering. In order to maximize my chances for good, reliant connections I still think that using leaded solder makes it a lot easier. As far as I know, it is still legal for private users (here in Europe) to buy and use leaded solder. Where to purchase it...
  3. Shefffield

Influence of fs (driver resonance frequency) on active/passive XO development?

Hello forum, I hope this is the right section of the forum to discuss this topic. I'be been wondering about which or how much influence the resonance frequency of a driver/driver in cabinet has - especially since I am more interested in active crossovers. Sure, I am aware that for passive...
  4. Shefffield

Recommendations for DIY balanced line level cables (voodoo-free)

Hello forum, I have to rearrange my DAC and amplifiers setup and need to make new cables for that. The units in question are an RME Fireface UFX II as DAC/preamp and a bunch of Powersoft D-Cell 504 amp modules (technical specs in this post...
  5. Shefffield

Advice for DIY fixed ratio line level attenuator (voltage divider) for active DIY speaker

Hello forum, Not sure if I am in the right section or should have posted in DIY... I need some help in designing and building some fixed ratio attenuators for my speaker setup. Digitally controlled active speaker, each driver on its dedicated DAC and amp channel. Recently I damaged a tweeter...
  6. Shefffield

How a music score is being done - Mick Gordon "Doom Eternal"