• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Solder - unleaded or classic Sn60Pb38Cu2?

Shefffield

Hello, forum!

I'm not really good at soldering. In order to maximize my chances for good, reliant connections I still think that using leaded solder makes it a lot easier.

As far as I know, it is still legal for private users (here in Europe) to buy and use leaded solder. Where to purchase it is the next question though..

What are your experiences and recommendations?

valerianf

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Lead solder is used for medical devices because of a better reliability.
However for home repair lead free solder is far sufficient.

mightycicadalord

I've always just bought whatever the local stores have which is usually 60/40 tin/lead.

alex-z

Unleaded isn't hard to make good connections with. Just follow best practices such as:

1. Clean the surfaces for soldering with high concentration isopropyl alcohol.

2. Tin the tip of the soldering iron.

3. Heat the wire you are soldering, not the solder itself.

4. Heat the joint until the solder is a shiny pool. Remove the iron slowly.

5. Use an iron with adjustable temperature and set it appropriately. Even small tasks I never use under 400ºF, 600+ for stuff like inductors which have a lot of thermal mass.

somebodyelse

Major Contributor
Children manage to make decent joints with lead free solder and basic irons during learn to solder sessions at maker faires and similar, so don't worry too much about the type of solder. The method is more important. Find a good guide like the adafruit one, or perhaps more than one guide if they don't express it in a way that's clear to you.