• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Apollon Hypex NC2K Amplifier Teardown

Status
Not open for further replies.

March Audio

Master Contributor
Audio Company
Of course I have a vested interest, John is potentially and erroneously damaging the reputation of our products, but also those of Apollon, Nord, NAD etc etc.

I just want this site to live up to its name....science... and not speculative personal opinion, or "a feeling in their water" ;)

If John (or anyone else) has any actual information that supports his claims that there is a fundamental reliability longevity issue with Hypex products then lets hear it.

We do have this from @DS23MAN

To clarify my position, I am an external consultant at Hypex for several years and do a lot of beta testing on their products.

The problem in this discussion is mainly the reliabity of Suscon cap's, well I can't find any proof on the net they are shit.

Hypex is pooping out amp modules and smps modules in such quantaties that a problem would show directly. To be frankly, if you produce more than 100.000 modules a year and 1 person can keep up the warranty claims ( and failure research) (and repair)......

Last edited:
OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Are you asking this to the exclusion of increased price?
No. I would pay more. I already said that earlier. Would happily pay $200 more for each amp.

OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Is it cost cutting with implied reliability issues, or is the cap perfectly fit for purpose? Ie damn good engineering practice to not over specify and increase cost where it is not necessary?