• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Is it possible to use EQ and have bitperfect output at the same time?

bloodevil

Hi all, I'm trying to get the best out of my Topping E30, I'm using it with foobar and I'm also using Peace to apply EQ.
Now the problem is that in order to apply EQ on foobar I need to select Wasapi-shared as my output, however this doesn't allow me to have bit-perfect playback. Is there a way to sort this out? Cause if I select Wasapi-event it gives me bit-perfect playback but it doesn't allow any DSP.
Thanks in advance :)

theREALdotnet

Major Contributor
“Bit-perfect” is an audiophile buzzword, it means nothing, certainly not “better quality”.

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Makes sense, ahaha total newbie
"Bit perfect" is somewhat "overrated". It's more like "insurance" that nothing is accidently changing digitally, or in that part of the digital path/process. . If you rip a CD to WAV it's nice to know that the WAV is bit identical to the original CD, etc.

Simply changing the volume digitally changes the data. Modern studio production involves a LOT of digital alteration.

But as listeners, the concept of high-fidelity is accurate reproduction of the recording/production so sometimes it's nice to know that the data is not altered or corrupted (beyond what was done during production).

If you are using EQ to compensate for speaker or headphone frequency response variations you are making the sound more accurate. Or if you happen to like a little (or a lot) of bass boost, EQ can be an improvement even if it's not accurate. Or maybe you just don't like what the mixing or mastering engineer did and you want to make it better.

AnalogSteph

Major Contributor