• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Cost no object dac/streamer

andreasmaaan

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I am sure you have extensively listened to the Bartok and compared it with the Benchmark to be so sure. After all this is the audiosciencereview forum.
:)

I am an engineer so the "scientific" bit of this forum is something that I appreciate a lot. I am also fascinated what level of audio performance is possible today at very reasonable cost. I have a Chord Mojo for portable use that I am very happy with.
However measurements are not everything. We are only able to measure certain parameters and measuring instruments have limited resolution. Claiming that every device that measures the same sounds the same is as wrong as dismissing measurements and seeking justifications why a device that measures badly "sounds good".
Having said that, my purchase of a dCS DAC was preceded by four lengthy single blind listening sessions with two friends. In the given circumstances (system, room etc.) there were significant differences in the sound of the different DACs. We did not listen to the Benchmark DAC3, so I cannot say how it would have compared. But for me, the dCS Rossini was the DAC that most gave me the impression of being in a live concert and hearing music and not hifi. It achieved this both with PCM and DSD material. Some of the comparatives were equally good with either PCM or DSD but not the other. The dCS was the best across both formats.