• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Trying to Measure Microphones. Added some absorption around the test speaker and the results are weird.

ChrisG

Hi all,

I've been pondering this one for a while. I couldn't think of a sensible explanation by myself, so thought I'd see if anyone around here has any clues.

My aim is simple: I'd like to be able to measure microphones. I'm a live sound engineer, and use a variety of mics for my work. I'd like to be able to measure them to ensure they're working properly, performance isn't degrading, and also to satisfy my own curiosity.

My test speaker isn't anything special. It appears to be a Vifa TG9, but with a black cone. The cone still has the same texture of the usual white version, so I expect it was done for a custom order. It's in a sealed box and good for about 150Hz-15kHz. REW's calibration holds up okay for slow rolloffs, so I'm happy collecting data down to about 50Hz, so long as there's no external noise to mess things up.

Moving on towards the mystery:
When I put a microphone in front of the speaker and run sweeps, there are plenty of reflections clearly visible. The room is small, and doesn't have much absorption. In order to eliminate some of the reflections, I made an absorbing tube to put over the cone of the test speaker, so I could put the mic at the other end and reduce the amount of sound thrown sideways. NB: most stage mics are pretty insensitive to sound arriving from the rear, so sound going past the mic and bouncing back is a smaller concern.