• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Signal Chain Help

fafnir

Hi there,

I'm an ASR newbie who could really use a hand with optimizing the signal chain/levels for my passive loudspeaker set up. The parts I'm working with are:

SMSL m200 DAC
Khadas Tone Board
Alva Solo Phono Preamp
vintage tape deck
flat screen with optical/coax/RCA out
Rolls ss412 attenuator/source selector (all RCA)
JDS Atom amp
Behringer A800
Elac DBR62

Here are a few of the specs:

SMSL M200
RCA out: 2Vrms
XLR: 4.1Vrms

Alva Solo
Output: 300mV
Output Sensitivity: 3.35mV
Overload Margin: >30dB

JDS Atom Amp
Input Impedance: 10k
Output Impedance: .1 ohm
Max Output @ 600Ω: 125mW (8.68 VRMS)
Max Output @ 150Ω: 502 mW (8.66 VRMS)
Max Output @ 32Ω: 1 Watt (5.66 VRMS)

Behringer A800
Input Impedance
- XLR/TRS(Bal): 20K
- RCA/TRS (Un-Bal): 10K
Voltage Gain @ Max
- Bal: 30 dB
- RCA: 41dB
Sensitivity
- XLR: +4dBu
- RCA: -10dBV

Elac DBR62
Sensitivity: 86db @ 2.83v/1m
Max power: 120 Watts
Impedance: 6 ohm

The main questions I'm struggling to answer are:

- Would it be advisable to plug the 4 sources (DAC/TV/phono/tape) into the Rolls selector at full volume and then attenuate with the selector?
- Will the attenuator change the frequency response and/or impedance?
- Should I keep the Behringer gain at maximum?
- Can I plug the DAC directly into the A800 via a balanced connection (is has a preamp function) and still use the RCA input for the source selector?
- Should I sell the Atom/KTB/Rolls and put it towards a better preamp like the "Schiit Freya S"?
- Should I sell everything except the speakers and put it towards a nice integrated amp?