• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Recommended dac/amp

skrull

As a newbie here, I would like to say thanks to many of you. I have read this forum for the past 6 months trying to choose dac+amp setup for my home use and I learned a lot here.

I already read about the D50 hump, the DX3S quality issues. I am inclined/willing to buy Topping D50S and THX 789 AAA.

Why D50S? Because I am changing my car audio setup, and I could use on the car also. Then if it is up to the Alpine 9887's 24-bit burr-brown dac I will retire the head unit and buy one more for home use.

D50/D50s are small, works from usb power and works with iOS using the camera (OTG) cable.

I'm about to retire my Alpine 9887 HU because I don't use it nowadays, only its preamp stage (the iPod connection of the 9887 is analog). I listen to iPhone music (foobar2000, tidal). My car amp is a McIntosh.

Is my choice right a good one? What is your thoughts?

Regards,
(and sorry for my rusty english)

Rodrigo

Tks

Major Contributor
The Topping D50S is perhaps my favorite current standalone DAC, and I would say pairs real well with the 789 if you don't care about balanced.

What it pairs better with in my opinion though is a JDS Atom. Reason being the 4-fold price difference. A 789 costs $400 easily, and ordering one now, you will need to wait until November (though I distrust Massdrop, and don't have faith they will deliver on the nearly 2,000 units currently they need to make for the current drop going on now, when in the past they have had delays just simply delivering 500 units on time).