• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Recommendation for a simple upnp/dlna music server app

dlovesmusic

Hello, I am pretty new at this. I don't have too big of a digital library, maybe 1500-2000 albums in total, stored on an external ssd. I had tried as simple as installing minidlna/ReadyMedia (that does not provide too much library management), and jriver dlna media server (that seems to be pretty solid for library management), jellyfin..... They all seem to work pretty well.

I wonder if there is anything else out there that offers a simple/better to setup / use solution? I have seen others mentioned about minimserver and a couple others but wonder if that makes any differences other than maybe one comes with more features or easier to use ?

Thanks

Deric

5-pot-fan

Moodeaudio provides a decent streamer facility and is upnp/dlna compliant. I can access music files over my laptop (Foobar), Sonos 3, and Denon X3600 avr, as well as out to my standard stereo kit, with some flexibility in choosing the outputs as well.
My version runs on a Raspberry Pi 4 - all pretty inexpensive esp. as Moode is free.

terryforsythe

Forum Donor
I use Logitech Media Server (LMS) for streaming upnp/dlna. I have it installed on my NAS, which is where I have my music stored.

OP
D

dlovesmusic

I use Logitech Media Server (LMS) for streaming upnp/dlna. I have it installed on my NAS, which is where I have my music stored.
So I suppose LMS has a server app you install on your NAS and you use a LMS client app to access the LMS server?

terryforsythe

Forum Donor
So I suppose LMS has a server app you install on your NAS and you use a LMS client app to access the LMS server?