• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Old Denon amplifiers vs new class D amplifiers on a tight budget?

MikeFox

Hello! First of all, I'd like to thank everyone for the community we have here at ASR, I've learned a lot and have had some good laughs with some of the threads here! Truly outstanding community that keeps me coming back!

I'm very new to this world of audio gear and, have been reading about it non-stop for the past few weeks, which has made me question my first amplifier purchase:
Should I get an older amp that was once "reputable"? Or should I go with the new age TPA/Infineon powered amps that are rising on the market?

I've been reading reviews of the sub 200 dollar Class D amplifier market and I hear comments saying "at this price point, you might as well pick up an used amp from a reputable brand" (paraphrased, not from any official reviewer), and I looked around to find that I can get Denon amps from the PMA-560 to PMA-860, from 100 to the 150 euro range.

My options:
PMA-560: 70wpc 8Ω, 110dB SNR and 0.015% THD ~ 100€ (claims new optical class A tech, whatever that means)
PMA-680R: 65wpc 8Ω, 107dB SNR and 0.008% THD ~ 120€
PMA-860: 80wpc 8Ω, 110dB SNR and 0.07% THD ~ 150€ (claims new optical class A tech, whatever that means)
(I looked for Denon as it seemed to be one of the brands people talk about the most when it comes to 80s and 90s amplifiers, I looked for Technics as well but they seem to carry a heavier "reputable brand" tax, but I'm open to other brand suggestions!)