• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Linking PS5 sound to Motu M4

Ravix

Hello guys,

First of all I'm really a complete newbie in this audio territory even though I took a lot of time researching subjects and gear to buy, and I find it very hard to understand as there are a lot of technical concepts to grasp, so please forgive me if what I say or think makes no sense.

So I was looking for an audio interface and after a lot of researching and thinking, I decided to go for the M4 which appeared to be one of the best for my budget. I went for the M4 rather than the M2 because it has two line level inputs on the rear and and my plan was to somehow retrieve the sound from my PS5 and plug it to the interface in order for me to be able to play while for example being on discord on my computer and also benefit from my Equalizer APO (or so I thought). Again I made some research on how I could retrieve the audio from the PS5 as there is no audio output of any sort, only USB and 3.5mm from the controller. I found multiple ways to achieve it, but the one that seemed the best to me was to retrieve the audio through a HDMI audio extractor (I went for this one). As you can see there are two outputs : RCA and Optical. I hesitated for quite some time between getting an interface with a SPDIF input (Audient ID14 M2, Scarlett, even freaking GoXLR) and sticking with the Motu M4 through RCA, which I ultimately did. Then I got a cable adapter x2 RCA to x2 TS and plugged it in the inputs on the rear.