• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DAC/AMP specs with no hiss

Hanierlen

Hi , I wanted to know what are the specs I need to check when looking for dac/amps or just Amps that have no hiss with iems. I'm new at all this audio hobby and I only have the Fiio ka1 and when I plug it into my cellphone with my Ikko OH10 and S12, both don't have any hiss at all. However, when I use the ka1 in my laptop, there is a noticeable kind of static hiss when using my S12 and the OH10 has a beep sound in the left side and it bothers when there's no music playing or when watching videos. This is a problem too because I listen to music at low levesl. I wanted to buy the Qudelix 5k for bt and all of its functionalities, but I'm tempted to get a desktop dac/amp or dac and amp combination because I want to buy a pair of headphones like Hifiman he400, sundara or Senheiser 560 or 6xx in the future, so a gear that works for both iems and headphones would be great. The new Fiio ka7 looks good with both unbalanced and balanced outputs, but I don´t want to get it if it will give me the same problem as the ka1. Any recommendations on what dac/amps I should get are appreciated or maybe just get the Qudelix 5k. My budget is around 200 dollars. Thanks.

twsecrest

Addicted to Fun and Learning
If the FiiO KA1, when plugged into the phone does not make noise, but does have noise when plugged into the laptop, makes it seem that the laptop is causing the hiss issue, not the Ka1.
Best guess is the laptop's USB port is causing the noise.
Have you tried the Ka1 in all of the laptop's USB ports?
Have you tried the FiiO Ka1 in other computers, to see if you still get the hiss issue?