• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Clipping noise of Topping PRE90 connected with EHA5

elhendu

Hello,
I'm using TOPPING’s dac E70, preamplifier PRE90 and electrostatic headphone amplifier EHA5 with my active speakers(Genelec 8030c). I'm having a problem of clipping in a certain situation while using these devices.
I am not good at English, but I will explain the situation where I suffer from clipping noise and the situations that I tested to foind out the cause.

Situation A)
When I connect the XLR output of E70 to EHA5 at the DAC's maximum volume, connect the XLR PASS-THROUGH output of EHA5 to PRE90, and connect the XLR output of PRE90 to my active speakers, clipping noise occurs.

Situation B)
When I connect the XLR output of E70 directly PRE90 at the DAC's maximum volume without going through the PASS-THROUGH of EHA5, the above clipping noise does NOT occur.

Situation C)
When I connect the RCA output of E70 directly to PRE90 at the DAC’s maximum volume and connect the XLR output of the PRE90 to my active speakers, clipping noise does NOT occur. However, when I connect E70's XLR output to EHA5 in this setting, active speakers generate clipping noise even though the PASS-THROUGH output of EHA5 is not connected to PRE90.

The headphone output of the EHA5 does not produce clipping noise in any of the above cases.