• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Building a listening bar

sts

Hi all,
Bit of a different question here. I'm building a commercial bar/drinking space and would like to model it off of the Japanese kissaten concept to an extent- a high-end speaker system that mostly is used at a conversational level, but then could get turned up to thump at night. Of course, my budget is low. Once we find a lease I'll do the room acoustic work myself, and as a rehabbed audio engineer I can make systems work. My question is what system to put in.

Currently I've got my list as:
Tidal for daytime play
DJ brings the decks, or we get a generic workhorse turntable
Denon pra-2000 pre
McCormack DNA500
B&W Matrix 801 (S1, S2, or S80)

The B&W's are the question mark to me. I used to work on them a bunch and they're a known quantity that CAN sound very good. They are also very cheap on the secondhand market at this point- under $2K, which makes my budget very happy. Downsides are that there may be better* out there, and that they also aren't as sexy looking as many other speakers. The looks come second, but they matter.

So my question- what would you choose to fill a 20x100' space with 20+foot ceilings with pristine thumping goodness on a budget of $5-6K for the whole system?

Midwest Blade

Sounds like a fun and interesting opportunity. Have only seen these type of places on line but would love to visit one in person. 40,000 cu ft is going to require some thought as to speakers and amplifiers especial if you plan to get things thumping late night.

LightninBoy

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Hi all,