• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Audio quality/bitrate - is my old receiver putting out “hifi” quality sound?

manny11701

So I’ve been listening to hifi for a few years and am now looking to upgrade my beginner equipment. I’ve been reading about FLAC and different bitrates and the audio quality that these new receivers are capable of and it made me wonder how that translates to the Leyman.

I’ve got a monolith monoprice usb dac that I picked up for 25 bucks (this is my don’t judge me statement ) that goes into an old marantz ta-52 (super cheap, but I was broke when I got into the hobby). My connection is 3.5mm to an rca cable and then it plays from my speakers.

I have a friend who works in the audio industry and he said “once you get to the signal level, whatever was spit out by the initial device, that’s what gets created by everything else downstream if it’s just transferring the signal” I was wondering how accurate this is.

I don’t want to get too lost in the weeds of technicality, but I am curious as to how accurate this statement is and how much I should pay attention to advertised audio quality vs what we can hear.

Also random question: do our ears have a max bitrate that we can listen to? (Not talking the 20-20k hz range)

Last edited:

Chrispy

Master Contributor
Forum Donor