Search results

1. Rantenti

How much bass do I lose for DAC into low input impedance preamp?

Hello, I've read that one would lose bass if the input impedance of a preamp is less than 10 times the output impedamce of the DAC. Why is the general recommendation ten times? Is there a calculator or chart I can use to understand the actual loss of different frequencies in various output to...
  2. Rantenti

Gain Settings of Amplifier (Purifi) with preamp

Hello dear ASR friends, I have a Holo Audio Serene Preamp and an Audiophonics HPA-S400et Amp on order for their excellent measurements and versatility. I have only used integrated amps before so I have no experience with amp- preamp matching. I have read that for the Purifi module in the amp...
  3. Rantenti

Is the Keces S300 power amp a good match with Dynaudio Audience 42 speakers?

Hello, I have a Keces S300 amp as well as an old pair of Dynaudio Audience 42 speakers. The amp specs seem quite powerful, I don't know if their specs pair up OK. I don't want to damage my speakers. Here are their specs: Keces S300: 225 watts x2 @ 4 ohm continuous output power / Maximum output...
  4. Rantenti

conversion between crosstalk and separation

Hello! Hope you are all having a good day. I was looking at the specs of various headphone amps. Some specified crosstalk in -dB (eg. Topping A90) and some specified separation in % (eg Burson). If crosstalk affects the separation and thus the soundstage, is there a formula or chart which I...
  5. Rantenti

Only "half of the machine" used when using single-ended on a fully balanced DAC?

I have a Gustard X26 Pro DAC feeding a Topping A90. Both are said to be fully balanced from input to output. I am using XLR connection currently, but I need to lend the XLR cables to another system for a while, and I'm now using RCA cables between the DAC and Preamp. 1. For such fully balanced...
  6. Rantenti

Does the shield of a 3-conductor cable work when made into a figure-of-8 cable?