• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Gain Settings of Amplifier (Purifi) with preamp

Rantenti

Hello dear ASR friends, I have a Holo Audio Serene Preamp and an Audiophonics HPA-S400et Amp on order for their excellent measurements and versatility. I have only used integrated amps before so I have no experience with amp- preamp matching.

I have read that for the Purifi module in the amp, there are 3 configurations for the gain (1, 2 or Bypass).

It states that the bypass mode is relevant in cases where the Purifi amplifier is used with a strong preamplifier supporting a load of 2 to 4kOhm with a voltage ~ 10V RMS.

Here is what I can find about the Holo Audio Serene preamp:

Input: RCA: Max 12Vpp (4.2Vrms) 6800 ohms; XLR Max 24 Vpp (8.48Vrms) 13600 ohms

Output: RCA: 8.5 Vrms 20 ohms; XLR 1: 17 Vrms 3ohms; XLR 2: 17 Vrms 40 ohms

I wonder what gain settings in the amp should I set to get the best performance (dynamic range/ lowest noise/ crosstalk, best SNR/ SINAD etc) when using the Holo Serene preamp? My room is about 25m² and I use 86dB sensitivity speakers listening at a distance of 8 feet.

Thank you for your advice!

Last edited:

AnalogSteph

Major Contributor
It states that the bypass mode is relevant in cases where the Purifi amplifier is used with a strong preamplifier supporting a load of 2 to 4kOhm with a voltage ~ 10V RMS.
Looks like your preamp is exactly the kind they're talking about. You should definitely not need more than Configuration 1 (20 dB total gain).