• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Needledrop - Waveform asymmetry

WDeranged

I've not done any needledrops in a good while so I dusted off the equipment. I was surprised to see that my waveforms are asymmetrical. The bottom of the wave doesn't have as much energy as the top. The only thing that changed is a new stylus.

I've checked for DC offset and there is none. The file sounds absolutely fine and I've been listening to this stylus for a few months with no obvious issues.

Anyone have a clue what's going on? I suppose it has to be the stylus but I'd like to have a second opinion on it.

AEYmBYTAvcuxaQh4vFH7iy5KyRuMr4pozZqd7ENW4MGceGuNhHFSIhbQNkahEiHJNV3iNJDmglZRCc-LOLf2yjG_MMmYf5gU=w2560-h1328

Balle Clorin

Major Contributor
It is quite normal channel imbalance . Cartridges Are rarely in perfect balance, changing stylus can alter it too. I have seen the same when changing stylus. It might improve with an adjustment of Azimuth . Every preamp/RIAA should have a balance control..//

Last edited:

rDin

Very likely the azimuth is off, or possibly anti-skate pulling the cartridge more strongly to one side. Or both. Can you adjust, or is it a plug-n-play type setup?

OP
WDeranged

WDeranged

Very likely the azimuth is off, or possibly anti-skate pulling the cartridge more strongly to one side. Or both. Can you adjust, or is it a plug-n-play type setup?

It's a Planar 1 with no adjustable anti-skate. The only change in the whole setup is a new stylus. I suppose it's possible that the anti-skate magnet has moved but I doubt it. I have a spare stylus so I'll have to do another rip and compare.

Balle Clorin

Major Contributor