• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Speaker Cabinet Design Considerations

jsy

Well I am an engineer so I am referring to useful structures, ie a box with a big enough volume to correctly load the bass unit and panels stiff enough for their first mode of resonance to exceed 20kHz.
Not sure your mile high box of steel would comply but I certainly can't be arsed to do the sum.

It definitely would not comply with your, or any other reasonable definition of useful. Agree with your conclusions on arseing

Biblob

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Based on the Gedlee patent posted in my previous post, bracing like this would be more effective than what I modelled in a previous post.
bracing screenshot cld (v2).png

Edit: such design does make me worry about reflection waves coming back at the woofer that bounce back on the woofer in the box. Stuffing it might solve that though :)

Last edited:

jsy

Based on the Gedlee patent posted in my previous post, bracing like this would be more effective than what I modelled in a previous post.

View attachment 49029

Trying to visualize...these are sandwiches of rigid braces with a layer of damping in between them? With one brace connected to each panel, in 3 axes?

Biblob

Trying to visualize...these are sandwiches of rigid braces with a layer of damping in between them? With one brace connected to each panel, in 3 axes?
Correct!

OP
Rick Sykora

Rick Sykora

Major Contributor
Forum Donor

View attachment 49029

Edit: such design does make me worry about reflection waves coming back at the woofer that bounce back on the woofer in the box. Stuffing it might solve that though :)

is the damping material still sorbothane or something else?

Biblob