• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Why is RME so expensive?

Music1969

Major Contributor
It's like asking why a Mercedes is so damm expensive while you can get a Hyundai for cheap that does the same...

Motu is a big name in pro audio too.

Motu are not the Hyundai Excel of the pro audio world

OP
Pancreas

Pancreas

Your Motu is stellar

Unless the RME has features your Motu doesn't (that you actually would use) then no need for the RME.

Motu is one of the trusted brands, just like RME

The MK5 has more features that I would ever use but is always the pursuit for better audio and tone I’m an electric guitarist and run my DSP guitar tone through my Genelec speakers

As this produce better tones than any actual guitar amp and is works perfect for bedroom playing.

I had a Scarlett Solo and also Scarlett 18i8

I saw a considerable improvement in general audio and guitar tone by moving to the MK5

I wonder how much improvements id notice with the RME

computer-audiophile

Major Contributor
The MK5 has more features that I would ever use but is always the pursuit for better audio and tone I’m an electric guitarist and run my DSP guitar tone through my Genelec speakers

As this produce better tones than any actual guitar amp and is works perfect for bedroom playing.

I had a Scarlett Solo and also Scarlett 18i8

I saw a considerable improvement in general audio and guitar tone by moving to the MK5

Sound-wise, it doesn't make much of a difference these days. I recently bought a TASCAM USB interface for my electric guitars for little money. I also use it as a HIFI DAC for listening to music. TASCAM is also a brand with a great tradition in the pro audio segment. Today Designed by TEAC and Made in China.