• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need help identifying old interconnects

Status
Not open for further replies.

Briank

Greetings all, i'm new in my "hi-fi" audiophile journey but not to audio, wires and cabling. In a recent discussion with a dear audiophile friend of mine, and audiophile of 40 years who is mentoring me in my journey, when discussing interconnects he mentioned the best sounding interconnects he's ever heard, Discovery cables, and then mentioned they have been broken since the 90's. He tried to have them fixed years ago but the person he gave them to said they couldn't do it for whatever reason so he just put them in storage and never got around to sending them in. He has been using a pair of Audioquest and Tara labs interconnects that are somewhat close but has always wanted the Discovery cables in his system. I was intrigued and I work with many types of wires and cables in my industry so I offered to take a look at them. In my hours of research over several days, learning that Discovery has been out of business and with lots of image searching to no avail, I cant seem to find another pair of interconnects made with this cable. The cable is black, no part numbers or lettering other than "Discovery" with the seemingly requisite directional arrows. The cable is very stiff (obviously, given the braided metal shield) and is 8.25mm in diameter. This is not the exact cable in question since they are not currently in my possession but it is an exact representation;
lighter