• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

UAPP Toneboosters PEQ setting

Logan2

Hi everyone!

I am a newbie when comes to equalization, I hope someone can help me out here...

I have purchased UAPP (I am using G5 connected to Android smartphone via USB) just recently.

Up to now I have been using fixed band graphic EQs only.

I would like to set up my Toneboosters PEQ in UAPP according to Jaakko Pasanen's recommendations.

There are several different types of filters available in UAPP:

Low shelf, Low cut, Digital bell, Analog bell, High shelf, High cut, Low cut+gain, High cut+gain, Bandpass+gain, Notch+gain, Low shelf 2, Digital bell 2, High shelf 2, Low cut 1, High cut 1.

In Jaako's settings I can only see: Low shelf, High shelf and Peaking.

So my question is, which of the filter types above is equivalent of Jaakko's "Peaking"?

Also Jaako recommends to use either filters 1-5 or 1-10, based on number of filters available in PEQ.
What should I do if I have 6 filters available in UAPP?
Should I use 1-6? (please see Jaakko's PEQ settings attached).

Thank you so much for your help and advice.

Attachments

• PEQ.jpg
    PEQ.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 298
Last edited:

staticV3

Master Contributor
"Analog bell" is regular Peaking.

You can switch Toneboosters to 10 bands:
Screenshot_20230412-212602_USB Audio Player PRO.png Screenshot_20230412-212626_USB Audio Player PRO.png

If there are only 6 bands available, then I believe you should only use AutoEQ's first 5 bands.

MrNice13

Does inputing the values automatically set you a filter? In my case I need to mess with 30hz, 50hz, 4000 hz and 8000 hz freq so I keep analog bell for all of them ?

MRC01

Major Contributor