• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help setting input sensitivity on Genelec speakers

arthur92

Hi all,

I have a pair of Genelec 1030A active speakers and a Nuprime HPA-9 preamp. The preamp have an output level of 6 Vrms and my Genelec have a variable input sensitivity from +6 dB to -6 dB.

I use this system to listen music only. As a newbie, i don’t know where to set the input sensitivity of the Genelec to match the output level of the Nuprime.

Which input sensitivity would you have choose in my situation ? Is there is a method of calculation to obtain a perfect match ?

Thanks a lot !
Regards
Arthur

sergeauckland

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
With any active 'speaker, I set the pre-amp volume control to about 2/3rd of the way round, then adjust the active 'speaker's volume controls so that it's then just a bit louder than I'm ever likely to want. That way, there's still some left in the pre-amp if a source happens to be especially quiet, but there's no chance of overloading the 'speakers.

There's no calculation possible, as the output of the pre-amp will depend on two factors:- how loud the music is, which varies track by track, and how loud one wants to play, which varies with personal circumstances. The way I do it allows adjustment for both.

S.

OP
A

arthur92

With any active 'speaker, I set the pre-amp volume control to about 2/3rd of the way round, then adjust the active 'speaker's volume controls so that it's then just a bit louder than I'm ever likely to want. That way, there's still some left in the pre-amp if a source happens to be especially quiet, but there's no chance of overloading the 'speakers.