• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Genelec 1030A input sensitivity with Nuprime preamp ?

arthur92

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and I have a question about input sensitivity of my actives speakers.

I have a pair of Genelec 1030A that i use to listen music with a Nuprime HPA-9 preamp. My sources are an Apple computer and a Technics turntable.

I don't know where to set input sensitivity of the speakers. Genelec have an input range of +6 dB to -6 dB and the preamp have an output level of 6 Vrms (in RCA).

I know that -6 dB is the most sensitive setting and +6 dB the less sensitive setting. And I think 6 Vrms is a high output for a hi-fi device.

Do you guys have some recommandations ?

Thank you very much (sorry for my English).

Arthur

staticV3

Master Contributor
I would set the Genelecs to their lowest sensitivity (= +6dBu/1.55V)

OP
A

arthur92

Thanks for your reply !
Can you develop a bit ? Why it would be better in this configuration ?

By listening at +6dB, despite having more room on the Nuprime volume knob, i think that the sound changed a bit. I used to listen with -6 dB setting.

It is less « in your face » sounding, especially in the high frequencies. Is -6dB with that preamp can create distorsion ?

staticV3

Master Contributor
Usually, you can minimize noise or speaker hiss by using your analog audio sources at their maximum amplitude and setting your Amp to the lowest Gain.

The gain knob on the back of your Genelecs should not have an effect on frequency response or distortion, though it's not impossible.
Someone would have to measure it to say for sure.