• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amp/Dac recommendations for Android nearfield monitor setup

Moo369

Hi all, newbie here.

First off, a bit of background. I used to be a hifi nut, with a very nice Linn, Sugden, ProAc and REL setup. Since having kids, that's now long gone, and been replaced with a Naim Muso in the front room, so still a nice bit of kit.

What I'm looking for is something for my home office. Annoyingly, I don't like listening on headphones, which seems to make matters much more difficult, hence my appeal for help on here.

I recently bought a tiny pair of jvc speakers, originally from an old mini system, and a cheap Chinese Bluetooth amp, which pairs to my Android phone. For my needs, which are purely low volume, nearfield listening, I've been staggered by how good it sounds, for a total outlay of around £80. It's certainly converted me to the benefits of a small, full range driver. The speakers are on my desk, as I've no option for wall mounting or floor stands, but I've found that the proximity has actually been a good thing in terms of imaging, and Given that I'm only a couple of feet from the speakers, I don't need a hugely powerful amp, so there are many benefits.

The truth is, I actuallu enjoy it more than listening to the Naim, and it's made me wonder how much I can improve things (on a budget). I've just today managed to get hold of an upgraded version of my current JVC speakers, in a nice wood finish, with a wood cone driver.

Current thoughts/wishes are as follows: