Search results

1. Z

Car Audio: Fixing a 1979 Porsche 924. What would an "audiophile" setup of roughly that era look like? I'm a noob.

I'm not super sensible, but I bought 1979 Porsche 924 (4-speed, NA for those who care) for pretty cheap. Cosmetically it looks terrible, but mechanically it seems pretty darn good. It's a project for own amusement/edification. On of the things I want to do is have a super sweet, cassette-based...
  2. Z

Resistive loading on electric guitar pickups? Can anyone help?

OK, this isn't really a "hi-fi" related inquiry, but I feel like this is as good a place as any to ask. I have a 1989 Yamaha RGX 611J. It has a humbucker in the bridge and single coil in the neck position. The general guideline for guitar pickups is that for humbuckers (two coils wired in...
  3. Z

Any guitarists/bassist or other musicians out there?

Hey y'all. I haven't been on these forums lately. I've been busy practicing guitar and generally messing about with them. I actually put together this part-o-caster just the other day. Im calling the Kuzu (屑—means "trash", "scrap" "refuse", et cetera) Custom for the time being Anyways, I am...
  4. Z

SAT modifies SL-1000R.

So apparently SAT has released a DD turntable (which is actually just an SL-1000R). EDITED: because I am stupid.
  5. Z

Is there a way to repair a latching switch that won't "latch"?

I've got an old guitar with what is known as a "push-push" pot. It is a pot but with a DPDT on-on switch on the bottom. I am pretty sure this thing is supposed to "latch", but for whatever reason it doesn't. Is there a way to fix one of these easily. I've searched various industrial supply...
  6. Z

Recommendations for quality tools for guitar and electronic repair/general use?