• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

First dac. Help me to choose.

tzavardin

I am planning to get Swissonic V7 as desktop speakers. I don't mix or record music, neither I stream. I just want to hear music. I have a guitar, but I haven't thought of recording so far, I am just learning.

I think I need an audio interface mainly because if I just connect the v7s with unbalanced rcas to my motherboard, I am afraid it is gonna be a mess. Of course, the external DAC is a plus.

I have seen that Thomann has the Focusrite Vocaster One on offer at 45 euros atm. The problem is that as I understand it supports sample rate of 24bit/48khz. The truth is that right now I have only a spotify subscription that supports only 16/44.1 if i am not mistaken. But if I get tidal later, will this be a problem?

Do you think i should go with Scarlett solo or 2i2, or some other dac on the site? By doing that, I muat double my dac budget. Does it worth it?

I have seen some cheaper ESIs and Swissonic Audio 1 and 2, at 24/192 but most of them have driver problems with windows 11.
What would you suggest for my use?

Anton D

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Do not bother yourself considering Tidal...it will not be around long enough to justify accommodating it.

Would a "USB DAC" be enough for you?

Oh, and welcome!!!!

EERecordist

steve59

Major Contributor
I bought a Project pre box s2 digital for it's functionality at the price.

Timcognito

Major Contributor
Forum Donor