• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Best version of cat Stevens tea for the tillerman?

Thomas savage

Grand Contributor
The Watchman
Forum Donor
I have a recent remaster dated 2008.
LC 00407
SET 00602517870888
Cd 1. 00602517870854
Cd 2. 00602517870871

That's all the numbers I can find on it..

It suffers the usual modern remaster issues, simply does not seem to be mastered in a way optimal for hifi playback through speakers.. For rigs like we have, it's for ear phones imo, that's fine but they should tell us this is the bloody portable ear phone version.

TBone

Major Contributor
in a nutshell ... LPs pressings aside; CD ... I'd suggest the AM+ series, the MFSL and perhaps the Island Master series. The SACD/HD versions also look fine. I'd stay clear of the "deluxe" versions from 2008, unless added compression is your cup of snowflake.

BobShermanEsq

I have a recent remaster dated 2008.
LC 00407
SET 00602517870888
Cd 1. 00602517870854
Cd 2. 00602517870871

That's all the numbers I can find on it..

It suffers the usual modern remaster issues, simply does not seem to be mastered in a way optimal for hifi playback through speakers.. For rigs like we have, it's for ear phones imo, that's fine but they should tell us this is the bloody portable ear phone version.

Listening to allot of Cat Stevens lately... ( moderated )

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
Thomas savage

Thomas savage

Grand Contributor
The Watchman
Forum Donor
I love the anti production of tea for the tillerman. It's a perfect record imo, so it gets a play once a week at least. It's just you and cat Stevens , no multitrack over dub bollocks diluting the natural visceral emotion of the performance.

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer