• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

30.7 for Condos tour

OP
J

josh358

Um, as I've said, I own 1.7is and have listened to them for many years. They are less accurate than $350 studio monitors. I don't know what to tell you. That's the reality of the matter.

I think I'm going to bow out of this thread though -- I'm not really interested in having this argument with multiple people who are convinced of the superiority of Magnepans. It's not productive.
Again, I have no idea why you claim that they're "more accurate" than Magnepans. As an audio engineer, I can tell you that they aren't: partial and in some cases grotesquely inaccurate measurements, improperly interpreted, tell you nothing. They're like assessing the taste of a food on the basis of an ingredients label -- one that is riddled with mistakes and omits half the ingredients. And I've tried to give you some reasons why, but it seems I haven't succeeded.

But to each his own. If you're familiar with the sound of live acoustical music, those $350 "studio monitors" (wonder whose basement that "studio" is in) aren't going to sound as realistic as your 1.7i's. If you aren't familiar with the sound of live acoustical music, or if you just listen primarily to studio pop, the $350 speakers may be the best choice -- but not because they're more "accurate." Though I'm skeptical that $350 speakers are good for anything -- at least, I've never heard speakers that price that don't sound like crap -- cheap speakers like the Elacs have gotten surprisingly good, but nothing anyone would term "high fidelity" as opposed to "good for a dorm room and a step up from Bose."

D

Deleted member 2944