Recent content by jsrtheta

1. jsrtheta

Extreme Snake Oil

Which is why The Drones Club was invented.
  2. jsrtheta

Half of my Audioquest RCA interconnects failed

I had some RCA interconnects years ago that had threaded barrels on the plugs, which you could tighten, to ensure they couldn't be easily disconnected, and loosen, to remove them safely without pulling the RCA jacks clear out of the component. Which can happen with cheap, lower-quality amps...
  3. jsrtheta

Half of my Audioquest RCA interconnects failed

I didn't know that was even possible. I have 30-year-old interconnects in 1 meter and 2 meter. They sound fine, which is to say, like any other competently designed and manufactured cables.
  4. jsrtheta

Old CD's on New Hardware

In the section you excerpted I clearly refer to Michael Fremer's statements, so obviously I have "heard" of "disc rot". I've been listening to and collecting CDs for about 35 years. I have never heard nor seen actual "disc rot".
  5. jsrtheta

Old CD's on New Hardware

Very true. They were jamming music on CDs as fast as they could, and they weren't particularly discriminating about it. There was a fortune to be made. There was an addiction aspect, too. A lot of people at the beginning just wanted CDs, a lot, and bought a ton of them.
  6. jsrtheta

Old CD's on New Hardware

My friend didn't record that. I do know that Billy Corgan took the tapes with him every night - he didn't let anyone touch them. That might indicate he was extremely attentive to exactly was and wasn't on the finished product, but that's just a guess. I never personally met him, though I saw the...
  7. jsrtheta

Power Cords and Sound

Some makers spell out in their manuals that the power cord you get with the piece is fine, and you certainly don't need to spend additional money. I've also seen statements about there being no need for power conditioners.
  8. jsrtheta

Who thought this was good idea?